Club History

The Nautilus Scuba Club was established in around 1983 or 1984 with a handful of local members meeting in a community hall in the Portsmith or Bungalow area.

The club was then incorporated as a not for profit in 1985 with the object of its constitution being “To promote the sport of Scuba Diving in Far North Queensland”, a goal that remains unchanged to this day.

Initially the club chartered boats to run monthly dives that were well attended and the club has always had a strong social aspect with gatherings both in and out of the water a fixture since the early days. In the late 80s the club struggled with a period of low membership but recovered to become stronger than ever. The club ran its first overseas trip to Palau and Yap in November 2008 with 17 members making the trip.

Before moving our club meetings to our current home at the Junior Eisteddfod Hall the club has met at:

  • A community hall in the Portsmith Bungalow area
  • An Education centre on the corner of Lazarus & Morehead streets
  • A room upstairs at the Deep Sea Divers Den office
  • Cairns Marina Radio Club on McNamara St
  • The Serbian Club on Greenslopes St

Previous Presidents:

2014 to 2020
Jannemieke Hanhart

2010 to 2014
Eden Gray-Spence

2009 to 2010
Peter Farmilo

2006 to 2009
David Meyer

2005 to 2006
Chris Cameron

2004 to 2005
Anthony Green

2003 to 2004
Cheryl Harman

1999 to 2003
Michael Phillips

1998 to 1999
Sandra Gregg

1998 to 1999
Dave Johnson

1995 to 1997
John van Hoof

1993 to 1995
Keith Braddock

1992 to 1993
Alan Ingram

1991 to 1992
Mike Baxter

1989 to 1991
Bevan Clayton

1983/1984 to 1989
Unknown Divers